The Pigeon House, also referred to as The Poolbeg Generating Station is situated on the River Liffey in Ringsend Dublin. The iconic chimneys are so-called, because of their caretaker John Pidgeon. The story began with the shipping difficulties encountered in navigating Dublin bay around the time of the late 1700’s. Construction work began to make the channel deeper and The Great South Wall, the longest of its kind in Europe was constructed.
A more permanent fort built shortly afterwards, remained in operation until 1897, when the building was sold to Dublin Corporation. They wished to build a power station to supply energy to the fast-growing city. The power station, initially coal-fired, began operation in 1903.
It was finally decommissioned in 1976. Its massive chimneys became a famous Dublin landmark and have become a favorite with many artistic interpretations.